AIA Atlanta Reveals Winners of 2022 Design and Honor Awards

Friday, November 18, 2022
AIA Atlanta Reveals Winners of 2022 Design and Honor Awards

ATLANTA — November 18, 2022 — On Thursday, November 17, over 200 AIA Atlanta members and figures of the built environment gathered at the organization’s Build Something Great ceremony, held at the Fox Theatre, to celebrate the winners of the Residential & Hospitality Design and Honor awards.

The Residential & Hospitality Design Awards honored nine winning projects, including hotels and restaurants for the first time. Jurors comprised architects Christopher Derrick, AIA (Derrick Architecture), Mark Johnson AIA (Signal Architecture), and Brendan McHugh, AIA (McHugh Architecture).

The Honor Awards recognized six recipients, including The S/L/A/M Collaborative with the Firm of the Year Silver Medal. Sophia Tarkhan, AIA (Cooper Carry), Jamilla Walcott (YKK AP), and Greg Walker, AIA (Houser Walker Architects) served as Honor Awards jurors.

Late architect Jeffrey Robinson, AIA received the evening’s highest honor, the Ivan Allen Sr. Award, with past recipients Melody Harclerode, FAIA; Oscar Harris, FAIA; and Cheryl McAfee, FAIA as jurors. AIA Atlanta Past President Tracy Carusi, AIA served as chair of both Honor juries.

A special thank you to all jurors and presenting sponsor YKK AP.

Residential & Hospitality Design

Multifamily/Mixed-Use – Over 50 Units

Honor Award

Camden Buckhead (Niles Bolton Associates)

Merit Award 

Carpenter’s Shelter and the Bloom at Braddock (Cooper Carry)

Single-Family – Traditional

Honor Award

Keswick Manor House (Harrison Design)

Merit Award

Lake Compound Effect (Jones Pierce Studios)

Single-Family – Contemporary

Honor Award

Farmhouse on the Marsh (Harrison Design)

Hotel – Guest Rooms 101+

Merit Award

The Grand Bohemian Lodge (Cooper Carry)

Restaurant – New Construction

Merit Award

The Garden Room (The Johnson Studio at Cooper Carry)

Rumi’s Kitchen (The Johnson Studio at Cooper Carry)

Restaurant – Renovation/Tenant Buildout

Merit Award

Falling Rabbit Restaurant (Studio SOGO Architecture & Interiors)

Honor Awards

Ivan Allen Sr. Award

Jeffrey Leonardo Robinson, AIA

Silver Medal (Firm of the Year)

The S/L/A/M Collaborative

The John A. Busby Jr. Award (Exceptional Young Architect)

Sarah Woynicz, AIA

James G. Fausett Service to the Profession Award

Karen Jenkins, AIA

Kenrick Higa, AIA

Kwanza Hall Award

Ryan Gravel

About AIA Atlanta

With over 1,800 members, AIA Atlanta is a professional organization advocating for architects’ value and providing them the resources to do their best work, including continuing education, political advocacy, networking, and leadership development.